Have you ever felt out of your depth in a discussion about email marketing? You’re not the only one. These top 21 email marketing terms & definitions below will grow your knowledge and understanding about email marketing, and help you look and feel like an email pro. Read on!
1. Above The Fold
This is the part of an email or web page that is visible without scrolling down. This is the most valuable “real-estate” on your email/web page, and you should put your most important information (or highest paying advertiser’s promotions) here.
2. CPM (Cost per thousand)
This is usually the cost per 1000 names on an Email Marketer’s rental list. As an example, a rental list priced at $250 CPM would mean that the list owner charges $.25 per email address.
3. Open Rate
The number of emails opened over the number sent, expressed as a percentage. For example, 100 emails were sent, and 24 were opened. Open Rate = 24%
4. CTR (Click-Through Rate)
A percentage figure that reflects the number of unique clicks through to the desired destination over the number of emails sent. For example, 100 emails were sent and 5 people clicked on that email through to the website. CTR = 5/100 or 5%.
Further reading: An Introduction to Email Marketing
5. Conversion Rate
This is the percentage of people who completed your conversion goal (made a purchase/signed up to a newsletter/scheduled an appointment etc), over the total number of emails sent. For example, 100 emails were sent, 5 people clicked, and 2 people made a purchase. Conversion Rate = 2%.
6. Email Blacklist
Internet Service Providers (ISP) commonly use a blacklist to block emails from certain IP addresses and domains believed to be responsible for spam emails. Only emailing people who have opted-in to your database, not writing spammy sounding emails, and using a reputable mass emailer such as Mailchimp can help you stay off ISP blacklists.
7. Email Newsletter Ads or Sponsorships
This is where you buy an ad space in a newsletter or email, paying for the placement of your ad within the content of the newsletter. “Above The Fold” or higher up in the newsletter will often be more expensive that space near the footer.
8. Email Blocking
ISPs and corporate servers typically block emails that are suspected to be spam. Be blocked too many times and you may end up on a blacklist, which is very tough to undo. If your email is blocked, you will typically receive a “bounce” message notifying you that the message has been blocked.
9. Email Filters
This is a type of email blocking that is filtered by keywords found in the “From” line, “Subject” line, or body text of the email. Certain words commonly associated with spam emails (promises of riches, offers to enlarge certain male body parts, etc) will be picked up, and the email will be sent to the recipient’s spam box or blocked completely.
10. Email Whitelist
The opposite of a blacklist, a whitelist includes IP addresses that have been approved to deliver email despite other blocking and filtering measures. Most ISPs will maintain both a whitelist and a blacklist. When an email service such as Mailchimp says it is whitelisted with certain email platforms, it means they are confident that most email sent to those ISPs will be delivered successfully.
11. False Positive
A false positive happens when a legitimate (permission based) email is incorrectly filtered or blocked as a spam email.
12. Hard Bounce/Soft Bounce
A hard bounce is a failed email delivery due to a permanent error such as a non-existent email address. A soft bounce is a failed delivery based on a temporary issue, such as a down server or a full mailbox.
13. House list (Also Know As A Retention List)
This is a permission-based list that you have built yourself. You may use it to market to, cross sell, up sell and keep in touch with your customers; this is often one of the most effective ways to build deep relationships with repeat customers online.
14. HTML Email
As opposed to a text-only email (which as you’d expect only features plain text), HTML emails can include fonts, images and colours. Thankfully, you don’t need to be a coder to develop HTML emails; a number of drag-and-drop templates exist. Just remember, not everyone’s email providers automatically show images, so make sure your message can get across even when images are disabled.
15. Opt-in (or Subscribe)
When a user gives you permission to email them. This is usually done by the user directly supplying you with their email address and agreeing to your Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (either implicitly by their use of your website, or via a separate confirmation). In most jurisdictions the user usually has the right to Opt-out or Unsubscribe at any time.
16. Opt-Out (or Unsubscribe)
When a user choses to no longer receive emails from your company, usually by choosing to Unsubscribe via your email platform, or notifying your company directly.
17. Privacy Policy
Your website needs a Privacy Policy to protect both you and your customers. It is a clear description of your company’s use of and policy on information collected. A strong Privacy Policy will give your prospects and customers more confidence to share their data with you.
Further Reading: Legal Documents for Online Entrepreneurs, Made Simple.
18. Personalization
Using a recipient’s name dynamically in the email, helping to “personalize” the correspondence and achieve greater click through rates. Note, using personalization in the Subject line of the email has been over-used and may be seen as spam. Good use of personalization may include the customer’s name, previous purchases, and a tailored offering to him/her based on previous browsing or purchase history. The result? A targeted and relevant email that achieves superior results.
19. Permission-Based Email
This is email sent to recipients who have opted-in or subscribed to your email newsletter or EDM. Permission based email is the basis for legitimate email marketing.
20. Viral Marketing
Most marketers dream of this but rarely achieve it; word-of-mouth marketing voluntarily spread by their customers and prospects for free. Viral Marketing can be helped by customers sharing on social media, forwarded emails, and marketer’s incentives to spread the word.
21. Segmentation
Most email lists contain a variety of prospects and customers, and a one-size-fits-all approach may not yield the best results. Segmentation means identifying certain segments of your email list, and then sending these segments tailored and targeted email EDMs.
For example, you might segment your list into prospects and paying customers, or male customers and female customers, or by geography, product purchased, email provider used… the options are endless, and will vary from business to business. Segmentation should mean greater personalization, increased relevance, and stronger results for the marketer.
There you have it – 21 Email Marketing Terms & Definitions. What have we missed? Help us out in the Comments section below!